Can you provide more detail about what this actually does?
How does it handle if the locations are slightly different?
Do all the photos from both versions end up in the resultant artwork?
Does the description from both get included?
What if the titles are different etc?
Sorry for being a pain, but genuinely interested in what this does.
How does it decide which one to keep and which one to “discard”?
You’re always merging into another artwork, so by doing so you’re deleting the current/source artwork. So you should do it from the artwork you want to delete.
Any details that don’t exist on the target artwork (e.g. the target doesn’t have a artist, but the source does) will be copied over, the other details on the target artwork won’t get touched.
Images do always get merged, so the target artwork ends up with its existing images plus additional ones from the source artwork.
So if the target artwork has something in the description field, anything that is in the description field of the source is ignored? Same for title?
And if the artist names are different then the artist name on the source is ignored? (I’m thinking here of cases where the piece has been added with an incorrect artist, like one I had from a Melbourne hunter recently who created the artist LynchMelbourne but the artist Lynch already existed).
The way to think of it is that it is mostly just marking the source artwork as a duplicate and removing it, and rescuing any info that might be relevant before the removal happens.
I think you might be on the Hunter dashboard - this functionality is only available when editing from the website or the app.
(We’re slowly merging the Hunter dashboard into the website, so that there’s a single place to go for users, hence the 2 different edit screens at the moment - apologies for the confusion!)